Featured Iggy Azalea News

Iggy Azalea Feels Defeated Because Of Chart Performance

Iggy Azalea has her eye on the prize, but the numbers are clouding her vision.

Chart placement does not equal success, however once you’ve tasted what a No. 1 feels like, it’s hard not to want it again.

Iggy Azalea is continually chart chasing because, in some ways, it validates all the hard work and money she pours into her craft. Despite knowing better… Iggy still feels defeated by the numbers.

The Australian rapper recently released her new album, In My Defense, and it failed to make major waves on the charts. It peaked at No. 50 on the Billboard 200 chart in the US and No. 52 in Australia. Iggy took to Twitter to vent her frustrations.

“As long as I do better each time I try to achieve something, I keep on going,” she said. “A mile a head would be great! but all I need is an inch forward for me to know I’m aiming in the right direction.”

She added: “Two weeks till I’m back in the Studio! Woke up today feeling a little defeated, ending the day feeling motivated.”

“I think sometimes I feel defeated because I look at the chart and see how much streaming impacts it, and think how can I win when I’m up against THAT? But I also feel like: okay, and? There are two options. Quit. Or shut up And just keep fighting. So I’ll keep on fighting!”

Take it from someone who constantly wants more traffic and hits… it’s a never-ending cycle of dissatisfaction! Do what you love and if the No. 1s and awards come great, and if not… you’re living the life you wanted to anyways.

Featured Iggy Azalea News

Iggy Azalea Shares Album Cover And Tracklist For ‘In My Defense’

Iggy Azalea unveils the wicked cover art for new record, ‘In My Defense.’

Iggy’s sophomore album arrives in less than a month (July 19th). It features lead single, “Sally Walker,” and a rumored collaboration with Cardi B on a track titled “Cowgirls.”

To get fans hyped, the Australian rapper shared the album art for In My Defense as well as the tracklist (see below).

On it, Iggy’s dead body is propped up after being hit by a car. It appears the driver ran off and left Iggy to fend for herself.

According to Iggy, the image is a “statement about women not having the ability to defend themselves under public gaze.” She clarified it’s not about a rebirth of sorts.

Are you feeling Iggy’s new cover? Leave an Exchange in Exhale and let us know your thoughts.

In My Defense Tracklist:

  1. “Thanks I Get”
  2. “Clap Back”
  3. “Sally Walker”
  4. “Homeita”
  5. “Started”
  6. “Spend It”
  7. “**** It Up” (featuring Kash Doll[16])
  8. “Big Bag” (featuring Lil Yachty)
  9. “Comme des Garcons”
  10. “Freak of the Week”
  11. “Just Wanna”
  12. “I Know”