Stream D∆WN’s New Album ‘Redemption’

November 18, 2016 By Jordan Miller

D∆WN’s final chapter of her trilogy, titled ‘Redemption,’ arrives ahead of schedule.


D∆WN’s final chapter of her trilogy, titled Redemption, has arrived.

D∆WN (formerly known as Dawn Richard) is one of the most imaginative artists in the game, and she closes out the third chapter of her years-long musical era with intergalactic anthems transcending time and space. Her latest, Redemption explores the colorful facets that makeup her creative DNA on what she dubs her most brave record to date, and is available to stream below.

“I spent more time on this album than any other era because I wanted it to be special,” she previously wrote on Instagram. “I wanted to speak on self discovery. What it means to be black. To be a woman. To speak on gay rights. To speak on black crimes. To talk about sexual discovery. And to find redemption in having a voice to do so.”

She adds: “Thank you for standing in this movement with me. For fighting in each era and growing with me. You have a heart for life.”

Redemption Heart (The Red Era) Tracklist:

1. Redemption (Intro)
2. Love Under Lights
3. Black Crimes
4. Voices
5. LA (feat. Trombone Shorty)
6. Interim (Interlude)
7. Renegades
8. Lazarus
9. Tyrants
10. Vines (Interlude) [feat. PJ Morton]
11. Hey Nikki
12. Sands
13. Lilies (Interlude)
14. The Louvre
15. Valhalla (Outro)

“I think I’m done playing with the past,” D∆WN told MTV earlier this year of Redemption Heart. “The Red Era is very much in 2035. This is my party record, my ‘goddamnit, we made it’ record.”

She adds the record will explore the best, happiest version of her.

“I just didn’t know what that sounded like. I worried I was too dark and my happy would still be totally melancholy, but it’s not. It feels like a second line. You know about second lines? In New Orleans, we do it for weddings, funerals, whatever. Walk out in the middle of the day on a Sunday, like, ‘Oh, the sun is shining, let’s start ******* dancing.'”

What do YOU think of D∆WN’s new album? Let us know in Exhale.

And while you’re at it… leave a comment and follow us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram.