The album features 11 songs including a collaboration from Rita Ora.

Prince Surprise Drops New Album: "HITNRUN Phase One"

Prince pulled a Beyonce.

While many of us are enjoying our three-day-weekend in the states, Prince was hard at work Sunday night releasing his new record exclusively with TIDAL without warning. It’s titled “HITNRUN Phase One” and features 11 songs, including “HardRockLover” which he dropped in July, collaborations from Rita Ora, Judith Hill (from The Voice), rapper Curly Fryz and Lianne La Havas.

And though the TIDAL exclusive might be a surprise to us, Prince was keen on sharing his thoughts on his music and Jay-Z’s streaming service last month, saying “After one meeting, it was obvious that Jay Z and the team he has assembled at TIDAL recognize and applaud the effort that real musicians put in2 their craft 2 achieve the very best they can at this pivotal time in the music industry,” Prince said. “TIDAL have honored Us with a non-restrictive arrangement that once again allows Us to continue making art in the fashion We’ve grown accustomed 2 and We’re Extremely grateful 4 their generous support.”

He later compared recording contracts to “slavery” in a followup interview, and said “Once we have our own resources, we can provide what we need for ourselves. Jay Z spent $100 million of his own money to build his own service. We have to show support for artists who are trying to own things for themselves.”

Prince hasn’t announced plans to share his record outside TIDAL, who also scored big this past weekend when it exclusively streamed the Made In America festival in Philadelphia which included performances from Nick Jonas and Beyonce. Just last year, Prince dropped two records – a solo album titled Art Official Age and his band 3rdEyeGirl’s Plectrumelectrum.

USA Today describes the album as a “reach back into the Prince vault” and “comes off as exciting and fresh rather than as a lamely self-aware re-tread of past glory. Aided by Welton’s modern production, HitNRun achieves what he and Prince aimed to do with their extensive experimentation: create an album that allows you to hit play and run it all the way through, uninterrupted. To that end, the pair focused on getting the transitions between songs just right to make the album seamless.”

HITNRUN Phase One track list:
1. Million $ Show (feat. Judith Hill)
2. Shut This Down
3. Ain’t About to Stop (feat. Rita Ora)
4. About to Mack (feat. Curly Fryz)
5. This Could B Us
6. FallInLove2Nite
7. X’s Face
8. HardRockLover
9. Mr. Nelson (feat. Lianne La Havas)
10. 1000 X’s and 0’s
11. June