The Pet Shop boys return with a pulsating ode to club culture.


Pet Shop Boys just upped their synthpop game.

After announcing their 13th studio album Super out April 1, fans knew their first release was looming. UK powerhouse duo Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe teamed up with producer/mixer Stuart Price for a banging buzz track titled “Inner Sanctum” that’ll pulsate through your body until the official single “The Pop Kids” arrives. The song honors their underground club roots, with the only lyrics being “In the inner sanctum, you’re a star/ The girls, the guys, they all know who you are.”

Lowe explains how “The Pop Kids” came about.

“After the shows I quite often don’t want a drink or even to go to the hotel bar — so rather than go to the hotel bar for one last drink I would switch the gear on and have a little go at writing some songs, without any thought of what they would be used for,” Lowe says. He recalls writing the song in Germany before heading to L.A. to record it. “But as I was doing this one, I did think it was rather good — so when we started writing for the album in Berlin I dug it up.”

Listen here:

Pet Shop Boys Super Track List:
1. Happiness
2. The Pop Kids
3. Twenty-something
4. Groovy
5. The dictator decides
6. Pazzo!
7. Inner sanctum
8. Undertow
9. Sad robot world
10. Say it to me
11. Burn
12. Into thin air

Thoughts? Let us know in Exhale!