Happy New Music Friday!

Every Friday, BreatheHeavy puts together a roundup of some the best new songs/videos inundating the digital scape. You’re lazy, we’re lazy; we’re in this together.

HUGE thank you to everyone who’s signed up to BreatheHeavy RX! Your support means the world to us, and we look forward to continuing our rollout of premium, ad free content.

If you haven’t already, give our FREE 7-day trial a test run and see what you think! If I could, I’d put a string of prayer emojis here.

VVAVES and Iggy Azalea – “Boys Like You” (Song)

Iggy doesn’t collaborate with artists too often, so I knew right away VVAVES’ new song “Boys Like You” was special. An icy EDM beat soundtracks VVAVES vocals before a haunting trap beat slides in to assist Iggy’s verse. The title of the track is misleading, cause they sing about f–kboys, which I appreciate. Music doesn’t alienate, even against douchebags.

Devin Rodriguez – ‘Bittersweet’ (Album)

BreatheHeavy recently featured Devin’s music in our Introducing profile – you can read that here. Today, the rising singer-songwriter dropped his new album, Bittersweet, and it’s jam-packed with brooding bops. On the 9-track LP, Devin sings about the shadowy side of love on “Thought I Knew U Better,” desire for romance on “All I Really Want Is U” and exudes confidence on “Ur Man.” Our New Music Friday posts usually shines light on the biggies, but give this gem a spin:

Ed Sheeran & Chance The Rapper, PnB Rock – “Cross”

Ed Sheeran is releasing a project full of collaborations in July, appropriately titled No.6 Collaborations Project (following No. 5). His latest creation is “Cross,” featuring Chance the Rapper and PnB Rock. As all Ed Sheeran songs are, it’s gloriously catchy, but instead of relying on live instrumentation, Ed incorporates a R&B beat that’s reminiscent of something off the Black Panther soundtrack. Prepare for “Cross” to live in your brain this weekend:

Ally Brooke featuring A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie – “Lips Don’t Lie” (Video)

Every time I see a new tune from Ally Brooke, I JUMP. She’s released a couple of very catchy pop tunes this year, and her latest is no exception. “Lips Don’t Lie,” featuring A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, is a tango-tinged tune that’s carefully crafted to stick around – you’ll be singing the la la la’s and Ally’s infectious chorus as soon as the three-minute track concludes. Shakira’s hips are somewhere fuming.

5 Seconds Of Summer – “Easier” (Video)

5SOS doesn’t know how to release a bad song. “Youngblood” was one of my favorite releases in 2018, and their latest, “Easier,” could rival that this year. On it, frontman Luke Hemmings questions whether he should leave or stay in a relationship that’s no bueno. It’s got an all-star team of hit-makers behind it; Andrew Watt, Louis Bell and Charlie Puth produced it (Charlie’s fingerprints are all over this). There’s also a fiery video for it:

BANKS – “Gimme” (Video)

BANKS’ synth-heavy new song is a gem. The singer’s subdued vocals slink over stuttering production and an infrequent pound of the bass. “’Gimme’ is a song about getting what you want,” Banks said of the ominous new tune. “It’s about knowing what you deserve, saying it out loud, and demanding it with no apologies. I’m ready to release this into the world and begin a new chapter.” There’s also a low-lit visual out:

Happy New Music Friday!

Leave a Reply