Happy New Music Friday (November 16–18)!

[adinserter block=”1″]

I won’t spend much time writing a thoughtful intro for our weekly New Music Friday roundup because there’s a lot to get to. I would like to mention BreatheHeavy’s Twitter account was finally unsuspended (you probs didn’t even realize sighhhh), so please give us a follow if you haven’t already @breatheheavycom. Alright, let’s do this.

Little Mix – LM5 (Album)

The girl group just dropped their fifth studio album, appropriately titled LM5. It’s filled with dance bops and female empowerment. If you’re going through a breakup, or feeling like an independent woman (always), this one’s for you. It’s their most cohesive-sounding record to-date. Days leading up to the release, the ladies decided to ditch Simon Cowell-fronted label Syco because they were unhappy creatively and professionally. We’ll see if the move helps the girls conquer stateside, but with 18 new songs to introduce to America… I’d say the girls are off to a solid start.

Mike WiLL Made-It featuring Nicki Minaj, A$AP Ferg & A$AP Rocky – “Runnin” (Song)

Nicki Minaj recently scored her 100th song in the Billboard Hot 100, and no doubt she’ll continue to rack em’ up. Her new feature on the Creed II soundtrack, executive produced by Mike WiLL Made-It, could give Nicki another notch in her belt. I could see Michael B. Jordan swinging a TKO to this.

Rita Ora – “Velvet Rope” (Song)

We’ve waited a long time for a new album from Rita Ora, but come Nov. 23 the pop star will release Phoenix. The record is shaping up to be a massive feat for Rita. Her recent single, “Let You Love Me,” is one of the singer’s best-performing tracks ever. Coming off the glorious high is a soulful mid-tempo ballad titled “Velvet Rope.” It’s a fresh sound for Rita (conjured up by producers RØMANS and Jimmy Napes), but the real highlight on “Velvet Rope” are the soaring choir background vocals walking alongside Rita’s raspy tone. Not exactly a Grammy contender, but it’ll inspire you tap your feet.


[adinserter block=”2″]

Julia Michaels – “In This Place” (Song)

Julia contributed an original piece to the Ralph Breaks The Internet soundtrack. The glitchy gem finds the singer traversing through serious electro-pop production cooked up by famed producer, Ian Kirkpatrick. On it, Julia ponders some serious unanswered questions: “Am I a baby pigeon sprouting wings to soar? Was that a metaphor for something more?” Yes to both. And bonus! Julia confirmed in a recent interview she’ll release new music in January. Let “In This Place” tie you over for now:

Brooke Candy & Lil Aaron – “Nuts”

Brooke Candy is pop music’s rebellious trouble child. She consistently releases music that’s refreshingly honest, often dark but always original. She dreamt up a new tune titled “Nuts,” featuring Lil Aaron. Glory songwriter Jesse Saint John and Sarah Hudson are Brooke’s “Nuts” coconspirators. On it, Candy shouts and whispers a maddening call to action: “Kill the infrastructure, f–k the crown,” she croons. “They told me to sit down / They told me to listen / Well motherf—er who’s listening now?” We are. We definitely are.

Ally Brooke – “Last Christmas” (Cover)

Ok, sure.

Madison Beer & Offset – “Hurts Like Hell” (Music Video)

Keep an eye on Madison Beer. The 19-year-old rising sensation just dropped another visual feast, this time for the Offset-assisted “Hurts Like Hell.” The bewitching clip finds the singer casting spells and wreaking havoc. Sure, she missed the Halloween wave by a couple of weeks, but hell-pop is something I could slip into all year long.

New Music Friday Playlist:

What’s YOUR favorite song this New Music Friday? Leave a comment below!

And while you’re at it… follow us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram.

Leave a Reply