Miller says every song tells a unique story.

Jake Miller Drops Surprise EP "Rumors"

Jake Miller pulls a Beyonce and unexpectedly releases new music.

Miller teased fans for weeks he had a big surprise in store, but no one saw his new EP titled “Rumors” coming. The five-song compilation features the title track, “Shake It”, “Selfish Girls,” “Yellow Lights” and “Sunshine.” Along with Miller’s iTunes release is the music video for “Rumors.”

“I wanted this EP to have songs for everyone,” Jake said of his new EP. “I wanted to make people dance, make people want to drive down the highway with their windows down and speakers blasting, I wanted to make people laugh, and I wanted to make people cry.”

He added, “I like that every song tells a unique story. It is definitely more mature than my older music. It’s the same Jake Miller, but with a more grown sound to it. It’s different but very cool.”

On Tuesday night, Miller posted the cover art on Instagram, saying:

SURPRISE!!!! I JUST RELEASED A BRAND NEW EP CALLED “RUMORS” ON ITUNES! 5 brand new songs! Just in time for tour! Go download it, upload a screenshot to Instagram & caption it #BuyRumorsOniTunes and I’ll be liking and commenting on your pictures! Link in bio! Hope you guys like it

A photo posted by Jake Miller (@jakemiller) on

Along with favs like “First Flight Home” and “A Million Lives,” Jake admits fans can hear all the new songs on his tour kicking off in Sayreville, NJ tonight (July 8), a smart move considering the demand; “Rumors” hit No. 1 on iTunes’ Pop albums chart in minutes upon the release.

Check out the music video for the EP’s title track below: