It features cameos from Tinashe, Charli XCX, Sara Bareilles, Brooke Candy and more.

Sorry Ryan Adams, a new cover album just took your spotlight.

Last week the “1989” cover album had every blog and Taylor Swift fan in a trance, but it received delayed backlash after the dust settled. Why so much praise? Bleachers’ swooped in to save the day and dropped their new cover album Terrible Thrills Vol. 2., a re-working of their own material with some help from his female friends. Bleachers’ Jack Antonoff invited some of music’s leading ladies like Tinashe, Carly Rae Jepsen, Sara Bareilles, Charli XCX, MØ and Brooke Candy to contribute on the record – some helped completely transform the song, while others simply laid down vocals.

Antonoff says of the record:

i love female voices. i wish i had one. when i write songs i typically hear things in a female voice and then match it an octave lower so i can hit the notes. that’s why so many bleachers’ songs are sung so low. i could change the key but i like things sounding like a male version of what in my head was a female-sung song. I’ve always written this way. so with that in mind i wanted to release a version of my record that spoke to how it was written and the ways i originally heard it in my head before i recorded and sang it. i think it’s important for people to know where the songs come from and why the songs come out sounding the way they do. i hear my music as my interpretation of a song I’m writing as a female in my head, so i wanted to make that a reality with the artists who inspire me to write in the first place.

i first had this specific idea 6 years ago when i was making the 3rd steel train album. that’s why this is volume 2 — because volume 1 happened for the self titled steel train album. the “terrible thrills” concept is something i see being a thread through different bands and projects i do. its non specific to any band or record – it’s just speaks to the way i hear music. i think every record I make should have a female companion record to go with it.

the process making this was all over the place. some artists fully recorded and recreated the versions, some i worked with them on. the collection is completely bizarre thing for me to listen to because it feels so personal as to how i write. it feels like the part of my process that I’m suppose to keep to myself or something and hearing it in headphones is utterly strange and wonderful.

one more note on TT is that this is and was always meant to be free for everyone to hear. this project took a year and tons of recording sessions and through that we all felt very proud that something as intense as a full album could be given to the people who bought the original work as a further look into it. I’ve loved how the strange desire record cycle has grown and changed constantly over the past year and a half. as i write this from the studio where I’m making the second bleachers album, i see terrible thrills as the final chapter for strange desire. ok- enjoy it!! talk soon”

You can download it for free HERE or listen HERE.


  1. Wild Heart (Sara Bareilles) LISTEN HERE
  2. Rollercoaster (Charli XCX) LISTEN HERE
  3. Shadow (Carly Rae Jepsen) LISTEN HERE
  4. I Wanna Get Better (Tinashe) LISTEN HERE
  5. Wake Me (Lucius) LISTEN HERE
  6. Reckless Love (Elle King) LISTEN HERE
  7. Take Me Away (Brooke Candy and Rachel Antonoff) LISTEN HERE
  8. Like A River Runs (Sia) LISTEN HERE
  9. You’re Still a Mystery (MØ) LISTEN HERE
  10. I’m Ready To Move On/Wild Heart Reprise (Susanna Hoffs) LISTEN HERE
  11. Who I Want You To Love (Natalie Maines) LISTEN HERE