Beyonce Drops New Album Out Of The Blue (Ivy)

Mad props to Beyonce for releasing an unannounced new album on iTunes Thursday night. No promotion, no hype, no hints leading up to its debut – it’s all about the music – reminding us how titillating it is to surprise and submerse listeners into an album.

The self-titled record is a “visual album” with each song receiving its own video treatment.

1 Pretty Hurts
2 Haunted
3 Drunk in Love (feat. Jay Z)
4 Blow
5 No Angel
6 Partition
7 Jealous
8 Rocket
9 Mine (feat. Drake)
10 XO
11 ***Flawless (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche)
12 Superpower (feat. Frank Ocean)
13 Heaven
14 Blue (feat. Blue Ivy)

Beyonce told fans:

“I see music. It’s more than just what I hear. When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.”

“I miss that immersive experience. Now, people only listen to a few seconds of a song on their iPods. They don’t really invest in a whole album. It’s all about the single. And the hype. It’s so much that gets between the music and the artist and the fans. I felt like…I don’t want anybody to give the message when my record is coming out. I just want this to come out when it’s ready. From me to my fans.”

Of course it’s all about “Britney Jean” for a Britney fan, but right now they’re definitely talking about Beyonce. What do YOU think?