See the album cover and tracklist as well.

Beth Ditto shares her new single and album/cover/track list.

Ditto continues to explore her sound outside of Gossip. It’s been six long years since 2011’s self-titled EP, but the 36-year-old indie rock singer is readying to release a proper album. On Monday (April 3), Ditto dropped the lead single titled “Fire” and shared the cover art and tracklist for Fake Sugar, her first solo LP ever.

“It took about two years,” Ditto told BBC Radio 1’s MistaJam of the creation process, adding she recorded about 65-80 songs total. Ditto clicked with songwriter Jennifer Decilveo (Melanie Martinez, Andra Day). “There wasn’t a genre I had in mind. I just wanted to do stuff that just seemed right and felt right. … I tried to be very uncool.”

After a few listens of “Fire,” it sounds like she has. Ditto’s powerful vocals bathe in guitars synthy flares while a heavy bass thumps along. “Bless my soul that’s the way it is,” she sings. “Bless my soul I can’t resist.”


“Fire” music video preview:

Fake Sugar track list:
1. Fire
2. In and Out
3. Fake Sugar
4. Savoire Faire
5. We Could Run
6. Oo La La
7. Go Baby Go
8. Oh My God
9. Love in Real Life
10. Do You Want Me To
11. Lover
12. Clouds

Fake Sugar album cover:

Thoughts? Let us know in Exhale.

And while you’re at it… leave a comment and follow us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube channel.