While B In The Mix: The Remixes features just one new song, “And Then We Kiss,” 10 of Britney’s hits are given new life from some of the industry’s top DJs. Rumour has it Jive Records skipped promotion on purpose, hoping instead for fans to spread the news by word of mouth. Perhaps it was no mistake that the CD was also leaked in its entirety weeks before the Nov. 22 release. But, maybe Jive skipped heavy promotion because the artist wasn’t there to promote. Britney has shown remarkably little interest in her past two CDs, not hitting the media circuit for either or producing new photographs for CD booklets (she used old photo shoots for Greatest Hits: My Prerogative and
doesn’t appear anywhere on this one).

In any case, B In The Mix: The Remixes keeps Britney in the spotlight while she’s off playing mom — and it’s actually a good record to boot. This disc is a sultry club romp that will keep Britney’s fans satisfied until her new album, tentatively titled The Original Doll, supposedly hits stores in 2006. Fans of dance music will also get their money’s worth with 11 mixes from top DJs like Jacques Lu Cont and Hex Hector. Most of the remixes are from In The Zone. Because it’s Britney’s most “grown up” CD, the songs are sensual and seductive, making for good vocals to remix. The strongest mix on the CD is Bill Hamel’s version of “Touch of my Hand.” Britney’s smooth, low voice offset by flying ethereal techno chords creates a **** melody that invades the listener’s senses. Turn this one up.

Jason Nevins’ “Early Mornin'” and Jacques Lu Cont’s Thin White Duke “Breathe On Me” mix come in a close second and third. These two DJs are obvious masters, taking Britney’s breathy voice and weaving it in with melodies that make your body slither, not bop. Hopefully the new track, “And Then We Kiss,” foreshadows what Britney has planned for the future. Much like “Over to You Now,” another dance song which Britney released earlier this year on the Britney and Kevin: Chaotic DVD, it’s a **** song that proves Britney has realized she isn’t that innocent with magical results. “And then we kiss/Your love comes alive on my lips/I feel a rush/Coming over me, over me/And when we touch/This moment when everything’s still/I close my eyes/And then we kiss/The feel of your hand/As it touches my hair/It makes me tremble/Don’t
a let go/Of the feelings we share/So baby, go slow,” Britney purrs.

“Someday (I Will Understand),” also from the Britney and Kevin: Chaotic DVD, is a sugar sweet song Britney wrote for her unborn baby. It’s treated in a High-Bias Signature Radio Mix that really let’s Britney’s voice shine through, which is a good call because it is equally sweet. There are much, much better mixes of “Everytime,” “Me Against the Music” and “I’m A Slave 4 U” out there that didn’t make the cut. Valentin’s “Everytime” remix is almost too generic. It ends better than it starts, but still could’ve used the airy chords Bill Hamel used on “Touch of my Hand,” especially since “Everytime” is a naturally haunting tune. The Justice Remix of “Me Against The Music” doesn’t do the song any favours. Already a dance song, “Me Against the Music” is given a harder edge that doesn’t mash with Britney’s and Madonna’s vocals or sound good in general. The same is true for the campy “I’m A Slave 4 U” remix.

Instead of a “Me Against the Music” or a “Toxic” mix, it would have been better if Jive included remixes of “Born To Make You Happy,” “(You Drive Me) Crazy” or “Oops!… I Did it Again.” This way, all Britney eras would be better represented and listeners would’ve gotten a more inclusive range of everything from bubblegum pop to entrancing, sensual rhythms.

Britney Spears – B In The Mix: The Remixes
Release date: Nov. 22, 2005
Track listing :
1. Toxic – Peter Rauhofer Reconstruction Mix (Edit)
2. Me Against The Music Featuring Madonna – Justice Remix
3. Touch Of My Hand – Bill Hamel Remix
4. Breathe On Me – Jacques Lu Cont’s Thin White Duke Mix
5. I’m A Slave 4 U – Dave Audé Slave Driver Mix
6. And Then We Kiss – Junkie Xl Remix
7. Everytime – Valentin Remix
8. Early Mornin’ – Jason Nevins Remix
9. Someday (I Will Understand) – Hi-Bias Signature Radio Remix
10. …Baby One More Time – Davidson Ospina 2005 Remix
11. Don’t Let Me Be the Last to Know – Hex Hector Club Mix (Edit)
Posted by: Reyes on November 29, 2005


Leave a Reply